Skip to Main Content

Finding a Topic

Art and Music Databases

  • Art Index Favorite
    This is index for art information from more than 300 periodicals ,13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
  • Arts (ProQuest Research Library) Favorite

    This collection provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals covering the subjects of music, theatre, film, tv, dance, architecture, art and design.

  • Grove Music Online Favorite
    Accessed through Oxford Music Online, Grove Music Online is the perfect starting point for scholarly research with 51,000 articles on topics related to music. Grove's also provides access to these music dictionaries: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (29 volumes, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (3 volumes, 2002), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes, 1992) and The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1 volume, 1994).
  • Music Index Favorite
    You can use Music Index to find literature concerning every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. The database carefully categorizes and organizes information from more than 640 international music periodicals. A broad range of subjects are indexed, including; musicological and organological topics, book reviews, record reviews, first performances and obituaries.
  • Oxford Music Online Favorite
    Contains Groves Music Online as well as Oxford Companion to and Dictionary of Music.
  • Academic Search Premier Recommended
    You can use Academic Search Premier to search for full text articles covering topics in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. A useful database for a broad range of needs, Academic Search Premier indexes nearly 13,800 publications, with over 4,700 of them providing access to the full-text.
  • ARTSTOR (Public collections)
    The Artstor Digital Library's public collections provide open content from multiple institutions.
  • Credo Reference

    Credo reference delivers full-text entries as well as images, audio files and videos.

  • Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

    A comprehensive online reference resource devoted to music research about all of the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of text material and 300 audio recordings come from 700 contributors worldwide, making this one of most extensive online resources for exploring world music. 

  • Music Reference Collection
  • Naxos

    Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. It offers streaming access to more than 163,000 CDs with more than 2,500,000 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. New CDs are added weekly

  • Project Muse
    You can use Project Muse to access scholarly journals covering a variety of disciplines. This full-text, full-image database provides access to heavily indexed, peer-reviewed core discipline journals.
  • ProQuest Research Library Recommended

    ProQuest Research Library provides access to a wide range of the core academic titles, from business and the sciences to literature and politics. The database expands daily and currently includes more than 6,000 titles, 75% of which are available in full text.

  • Vocal Masterclassics
    Vocal Masterclassics Indexes video recordings of voice masterclasses that are available online through YouTube and other free sources. It enables detailed searching by voice type, masterclass instructor, composer, song or aria title, and other aspects of the recordings.

View More Databases

Other Resources

Music Topics by Subject Heading

Music

Mass media and teenagers

Should popular music be censored to protect the youth and teenagers of the world from increased violence and aggression?

Piano -- Instruction and study

Choosing the best piano learning strategy.

Popular music -- Social effects

The effect of music on human behavior

Religion in the Public Schools -- United States; Music -- Instruction and Study

Religious / sacred music in public school curriculum

Theatre -- Psychological aspects

High School musicals - what crosses the ethical/moral line

Subjects: General Help
Tags: comp2, topics