Skip to Main Content

Finding a Topic

Bible, Theology & Christian Ministry Databases

  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus Favorite
    You can use ATLA Religion Database to access religious journals, essays and book reviews. The database provides online, full-text versions of significant scholarly periodicals selected for their merit and scope.
  • St Andrews Encyclopaedia of Theology Favorite
    Currently in development, the St Andrews Encyclopaedia of Theology (SAET) contains a growing collection of reference articles related to theology in Christianity as well as other religions.
  • Biblical Archaeology Society Library
    BAS’s primary publication is Biblical Archaeology Review. BAR is the only magazine that connects the academic study of archaeology to a broad general audience eager to understand the world of the Bible. Covering both the Old and New Testaments, BAR presents the latest discoveries and controversies in archaeology with breathtaking photography and informative maps and diagrams. BAR’s writers are the top scholars, the leading researchers, the world-renowned experts. BAR is the only nonsectarian forum for the discussion of Biblical archaeology.
  • Catholic Periodical and Literature Index

    Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® provides indexing of periodicals, essay collections, church documents, papal documents and electronic resources expressly addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism. Indexing is now included in the ATLA serials plus

  • Ebsco eBooks Religion Collections
    This collection provides titles for all levels of study in the Religion discipline. Titles cover diverse worldwide religions as well as its impact on culture and history.
  • Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception online
    EBR offers a comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible in its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. At the same time, EBR also documents the history of the Bible's reception in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora; in Islam, in other religious traditions and current religious movements, Western and non-Western alike, as well as in literature, art, music, and film.
  • JSTOR

    You can use JSTOR to access full-text, full-image, scholarly journal articles. This archival database covers the Humanities and Social Sciences. Specific topics include African-American Studies, Anthropology, Finance, and Mathematics.

  • New Testament Abstracts
    You can use New Testament Abstracts to find article abstracts (and some full-text articles) on the topic of the New Testament and its historical milieu. This database also includes book abstracts and review abstracts.
  • Old Testament Abstracts
    You can use Old Testament Abstracts to find journal article abstracts (and some full-text articles) from over 450 journals on topics such as antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, and philology. This database also includes abstracts for monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies.
  • Philosopher's Index with Full Text
    The Philosopher’s Index™, produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
  • ProQuest Religion

    You can use ProQuest Religion to find scholarly, full-text articles on the topics of theology, religious studies, philosophy, ethics, doctrines, and religious history.

  • ProQuest Research Library Recommended

    ProQuest Research Library provides access to a wide range of the core academic titles, from business and the sciences to literature and politics. The database expands daily and currently includes more than 6,000 titles, 75% of which are available in full text.

Other Resources

Biblical & Theological Studies Topics by Subject Heading

Bible

Bible. O.T. Daniel -- Commentaries.

Is the book of Daniel accurate?

Free will and determinism

Calvinism is a biblically sound doctrine and Arminianism is not.

Infant baptism

Infant baptism

Justification (Christian theology) -- Biblical teaching

Paul's views on justification as influenced by his Jewish heritage

Missions to Muslims

Muslim evangelism strategy

Open theism

Open theism: God's omniscience. 

Women -- Biblical teaching

Complementarianism vs. Egalitarianism

 

Subjects: General Help
Tags: comp2, topics