Encyclopedias and dictionaries are reference books. Sometimes they are composed of multiple volumes. All subjects or disciplines have specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries which cover only a particular discipline or sub-discipline. These resources are especially helpful for introductory information on topics and issues in the subject field. There are many Bible dictionaries and encyclopedias out there. The following lists select the best ones available to UNW students online and in print.
The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) offers a comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible in its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. EBR also documents the history of the Bible's reception in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora; in Islam, in other religious traditions and current religious movements, Western and non-Western alike, as well as in literature, art, music, and film. Volumes 1–17 have been published to date in the print version. When EBR is complete will contain 30 print volumes. The online version, linked here, contains all the entries from the print version as well as some pre-print content. Compared to all the encyclopedias and dictionaries mentioned below, EBR will be the most comprehensive resource available.
Credo Reference holds thousands of subject-specific reference resources in many disciplines from reputable academic publishers. Credo reference delivers full-text entries as well as images, audio files and videos. There are over 40 titles in Religion & Theology. The list below links you directly to each of their best resources in Biblical Studies.
The IVP Bible dictionary series
Dictionary of Biblical Imagery by
Oxford Reference Online has a number of great reference resources for biblical studies. You can search all the religion resources on Oxford Reference Online here. Below is a list of the best reference resources from Oxford in Biblical Studies.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by 
The Oxford Companion to the Bible by 
Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Archaeology by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Law by Dictionaries are a great place to better your understanding of a Biblical term, a book of the Bible, an author or place, or a particular concept. The possibilities are endless. Some good places to start are:
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by
This dictionary is the definitive starting point for research on any topic, place or person in the Bible, with emphasis on the crucial theological concepts. Based on the NSRV.
The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible by 
