Skip to Main Content

Biblical Studies & Theology Resources

About Reference Books in Theology

Encyclopedias and dictionaries are reference books. Sometimes they are composed of multiple volumes. All subjects or disciplines have specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries which cover only a particular discipline or sub-discipline. These resources are especially helpful for introductory information on topics and issues in the subject field. There are many theological dictionaries and encyclopedias out there. The following lists select the best ones available to UNW students online and in print.

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Our EBSCOhost ebook collections contain many different kinds of books, some of which are dictionaries or encyclopedias. The ones mentioned below are especially important in theological studies.

 


 

undefinedCredo Reference holds thousands of subject-specific reference resources in many disciplines from reputable academic publishers. Credo reference delivers full-text entries as well as images, audio files and videos. There are over 40 titles in Religion & Theology. The list below links you directly to each of their best resources in Theology.

 


 

undefinedOxford Reference Online has a number of great reference resources for biblical studies. You can search all the religion resources on Oxford Reference Online here. Below is a list of the best reference resources from Oxford in Biblical Studies.



undefinedGale eBooks is a select group of titles provides access to reference materials on a variety of topics. There are a couple reference books in this collection that are provide quality entries in Theology and Religion. These are listed below.

Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries