Library Home: EDU3285 Educating Diverse Learners: Finding Multimedia

Multimedia for Kids

Many companies produce children's programing for all age groups. These are some of the best I've found.

PBS Kids
neoK12
Excellent Resource for videos and games for all grade levels.
Great Websites for Kids
Reading Rockets
Teaching kids to read and helping those who struggle.
Contains Interviews with authors and illustrators, author's reading their work, and links to related resources.

TumbleBook Library This link opens in a new window
An online collection of animated, talking picture books which you can read, or have read to you.
About Tumblebooks
PebbleGo This link opens in a new window
PebbleGo: Covers the Animals and Bibographies and offers simple navigation, read-aloud audio, and text appropriate for K-3 readers. To make things more interactive, users can access extended learning opportunities with video and audio that accompany most articles, as well as a citation resource and an optional "Share What You Know" activity.
PebbleGo Next This link opens in a new window
PebbleGo Next: Covers the topics of States and American Indian Studies in grades 3-5. It connects users to curriculum topics. PebbleGo Next includes three citation formats and critical thinking questions to improve comprehension.

Kid Info
Great free resources for teaching.
Kids Research and Educational Links
Collection of free educational sites

Accessing Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a web-based digital video streaming service that delivers educational films from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere!

Thousands of videos are available. Special features built into the platform allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and store quick links to favorite videos.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a streaming video service containing outstanding educational programs.

Closed captioning

Many of the titles support closed captioning. If its available for the specific title, you’ll see a “Turn CC On” button in the upper right hand of the video player. Click on this button to toggle captions on/off.

Absent Narratives Resource Collection

This is a searchable database of ready-to-use vidoes, teacher guides that will support efforts to include Absent Narratives in the classroom.

Absent Narrative Resource Collection

Naxos Music Library

Naxos This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. It offers streaming access to more than 163,000 CDs with more than 2,500,000 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. New CDs are added weekly

Using Naxos and Creating a Personal Play List
Use this guide to walk you through the step of using Naxos efficiently and creating your own personal play list. Updated 10/5/18

Access NAXOS with mobile apps.

Student / Faculty

Download the app from your respective store – App Store for iOS and Google Play for Android devices. https://unwsp.nml3.naxosmusiclibrary.com/faqs
If you have a Student Playlist account, your email address and password will act as your login credentials for the NML mobile apps.
If you do not have a Student Playlist account yet, sign up on the institution playlist page.
Complete the registration process by clicking the activation link in your email.
The email address and password you register with will act as your login credentials for the NML mobile apps.

Congratulations! Now you can create and save personal playlists, and enjoy NML everywhere through the mobile apps. Please note that under certain rare circumstances, it can take up to 15 minutes for your Student Playlist account registration to be completed. Further, you can also access the web version with the same email address and password.

EDU3285 Educating Diverse Learners