Diverse Learners

Helpful hints!

Tips for finding "studies" and "research"

When doing background research on a topic or adding to your resource guide, news and journal articles are excellent extensions. Adding "elementary education" or "secondary education" may narrow your topic to more useful items.


In all the databases, you can limit to "scholarly or peer reviewed" and that also can help.   Remember, you may not want to do that if you plan to use the article in younger grades.

Other Resources

Education databases

Combining databases in a single search

Databases specializing in Education can be combined with those in other fields in one search.  
Start with an EBSCO database like ERIC.

Choose a database: Ebsco

On the screen that appears, you can check mulitple databases. 
For an education literature review, I might add general databases like Academic Search Premier, Discovering Collection, and other specific subject databases that might overlap with my topic like PsychArticles, ATLA Religion, or Business Source Premier.

Magazines great for browsing

The print periodical section is an excellent place to browse for ideas.   Here is an excellent starting place.

Instructor Magazine

Search Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar to find citations to scholarly articles.  While some articles are freely available via the web, many are not.  If you find a useful article citation using Google Scholar, check the Berntsen Library's Journal Title Search to see if you can access the journal via the library.  Otherwise, you may request the article via Library Search. Use the "Expand my Results" check box in the left column and find more articles. Click the request button to have an Interlibrar Loan request filled out for you. If the article is not available in Library Search, you fill out a blank Interlibrary Loan Request Form.

Google Scholar Search