Library Home: Art Resources: Art

Email Me

Contact:

Berntsen 112

651-631-5384

Subjects: Art, Children's Literature, Communication, Databases, Education, Electronic Books, Film, K-12 Databases, Math, Music, Public Relations, Theater & Dance, Voice, World Music

General Art E-Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
You can use Oxford Reference Online to access a vast online library of authoritative information in a variety of subject areas. With resources covering general reference questions, language, bilingual dictionaries, quotations, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, and business and professional you can use this tool for a wide variety of needs.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo reference delivers full-text entries as well as images, audio files and videos.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
You can use The Oxford English Dictionary to find word definitions and trace the evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years using 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources. This source is widely acknowledged as the most authoritative and comprehensive dictionary of English in the world.

Finding Information on Works of Art

Finding works about a piece of art can be difficult. We try to make it easier for you.

SARTLE
Rouge art history. A site that blends serious art history and the snarky fun bits of information that everyone wants to know.
Minnesotata Institute of Art Library Catalog
The MIA library houses detailed informational folders on over 500 works of art housed in the MIA. They also have a peerless collection of Cataloges and Artist Rea'sons. MIA for Researchers
more...less...
MIA library materials are for reference only. Photocopies are permitted for most items.
Index Project
Index Projects is an easy-to-use on-line platform designed to document artwork and share the records on the artist's terms. See the Gallery tab for examples

ARTSTOR (Public collections) This link opens in a new window
The Artstor Digital Library's public collections provide open content from multiple institutions.

Using Library Search for Art Topics

Library Search
Use Library Search to find materials you have access to as a UNW student, including books, ebooks, streaming video, reference entries, news and academic articles, conference proceedings, and more.

Tips and tricks for searching more efficiently in Library Search and other Databases.

If you are searching for a phrase, use quotes in the search. (i.e. "industrial revolution" )
You can also include multiple terms with capital AND (i.e. "industrial revolution" AND painters)
Using just an artist's last name can broaden searches.
Make sure to look at the subjects in great sources to find others on the same subject.

Worth a Trip to the Library

The Dictionary of Art
Call Number: REFERENCE 703 D561
Encyclopedia of World Art
Call Number: REFERENCE 703 En1
ISBN: 9780070194663
Publication Date: 1959
Modern Arts Criticism by Joann R. Prosyniuk (Editor)
Call Number: REFERENCE 709.2 M72
ISBN: 081037689x
Publication Date: 1991

Art books are shelved in the 700's in the dewey decimal system.

710 Civic and Landscape art
720 Architecture
730 Sculpture
740 Drawing and Decorative arts
750 Paintings and Painters
760 Graphic arts (Printmaking and Prints)
770 Photography
780 Music
790 Recreational and Performing Arts
800's :Literature