Library Home: Art Resources: Find an Article

Arts Databases

Art Index This link opens in a new window
This is index for art information from more than 300 periodicals ,13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Arts (ProQuest Research Library) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals covering the subjects of music, theatre, film, tv, dance, architecture, art and design.
Communication & Mass Media This link opens in a new window
You can use Communication and Mass Media Complete to access communications literature of great scope and depth. The database indexes, with some full text coverage, over 550 subject specific titles.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
You can use Academic Search Premier to search for full text articles covering topics in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. A useful database for a broad range of needs, Academic Search Premier indexes nearly 13,800 publications, with over 4,700 of them providing access to the full-text.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
You can use Project Muse to access scholarly journals covering a variety of disciplines. This full-text, full-image database provides access to heavily indexed, peer-reviewed core discipline journals.

Article Web Sites

E-FLUX
Established in January 1999 in New York, e-flux is an international network which reaches more than 50,000 visual art professionals on a daily basis through its website, e-mail list and special projects.
UBU Papers
White papers on topics like WORDS, SOUNDS, ETHNOPOETICS, RADIO, FILM, CONCEPTUAL ART

Library Search and Art Topics

Library Search
Use Library Search to find materials you have access to as a UNW student, including books, ebooks, streaming video, reference entries, news and academic articles, conference proceedings, and more.

Searching Tips and Tricks

When doing a literature review on a topic. Frequently "studies" and/or "research" are the preferred type of article. In all the databases, you can limit to scholarly or "peer reviewed" and that helps.

Adding the word "methodology," "research," or "study" to your key word search can increase the usefulness of your search results.

(Example: "cultivation theory" and methodology)

Remember "research articles" frequently contain the following information (usually denoted by separate headings).

ABSTRACT * RESEARCH * METHODOLOGY * CONCLUSIONS * REFERENCES

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar to find citations to scholarly articles. While some articles are freely available via the web, many are not. If you find a useful article citation using Google Scholar, check the Berntsen Library's Journal Title Search to see if you can access the journal via the library. Otherwise, you may request the article via Inter-Library Loan by submitting a request through Library Search.

How to set Google Scholar preferences for UNWSP