Library Home: Library DIY: Search tips

I need search tips.

General Tips

Quotation marks: search for an exact phrase to narrow results.

Search: medical error

Conducting this search without quotation marks retrieves results with those two words anywhere in the document.

Search: "medical error"

Conducting this search with quotation marks retrieves results only with that exact phrase.

Asterisk (*): searches for all endings to a word.

Search: Mexic*

This search will retrieve results with Mexico, Mexican, and Mexicans.

Web Search Tips	Database Search Tips	Catalog Search Tips
Keep it simple! Start by typing the name of a relevant thing, place, or concept. [puppy training tips] [london dinner cruise] Add relevant words if you don't see what you want after doing a simple search. First try: [puppy] More precise: [puppy training] Even more precise: [dalmatian puppy training class] It may take several attempts to find the right words to describe your search. Try words that a website would use to describe what you're looking for. Not ideal: [my head hurts] Not ideal: [why is my head killing me] Better: [headache] Use only the important words.Too many words will limit your results. Not ideal: [country where bats are an omen of good luck] Better: [bats good luck] Source: Google Basic Search Help	Too many results: Start small! Begin with just one or a few search terms. Add additional terms if you have too many results. Use good search terms - Use terms that are more specific. Too few search terms - If you only have one general term in the search box, consider adding another term that relates to the topic you are interested in. Use AND to combine search terms, for example, women AND salary. Use limiters - Limiters (such as date and format) give you more targeted results. Topic is too broad - Narrow the scope of your search. Think about the different aspects of your topic you will address and search for them separately. Then synthesize the information. You may need to narrow your topic if it is too large to cover in a short paper. Too few results: Is this the best database for your topic? If you are using a subject-specific database (education, psychology, etc.), try a multidisciplinary database like Academic Search Premier or a specialized search engine like Google Scholar. Be prepared to try several different databases. If you need a subject-specific database, try the Subject Guides or Course Guides. Use good search terms - Check spelling, and brainstorm synonyms or related terms. You can use OR between synonyms (for example salary OR pay OR compensation). Too many search terms - If you have three or more search terms, try removing one to see if your results improve. Too many limiters - Use only limiters that are absolutely necessary. Your topic is too narrow - What is the broader theme of your topic? Break your topic down and search for different parts separately. Then synthesize the information you find.	Looking for books, print journals, or media? Search Library Search, the library's catalog. Can you use a limiter to focus your results? Use the facets on the left side of the search results page to limit by subject, author, language, etc. Looking for a specific article? Use Library Search or use a subject-specific database from the A-Z Databases list. If you know the journal title for an online journal article, you can also search the journal itself (see Berntsen Library's Online Full-Text Journals). Or if you use Google Scholar and add "Full Text via UNWSP" to your Google Scholar Library Links (under "Settings") you can search for articles available full-text at Northwestern. If you see Full Text via UNWSP next to the citation, then we have it. Looking for Reserves? Find Course Reserves on the Berntsen Library's homepage.

Web Search Tips

Database Search Tips

Catalog Search Tips

Keep it simple! Start by typing the name of a relevant thing, place, or concept.

[puppy training tips]
[london dinner cruise]

Add relevant words if you don't see what you want after doing a simple search.

First try: [puppy]
More precise: [puppy training]
Even more precise: [dalmatian puppy training class]

It may take several attempts to find the right words to describe your search.

Try words that a website would use to describe what you're looking for.

Not ideal: [my head hurts]
Not ideal: [why is my head killing me]
Better: [headache]

Use only the important words.Too many words will limit your results.

Not ideal: [country where bats are an omen of good luck]
Better: [bats good luck]

Source: Google Basic Search Help

Too many results:

Start small! Begin with just one or a few search terms. Add additional terms if you have too many results.

Use good search terms - Use terms that are more specific.

Too few search terms - If you only have one general term in the search box, consider adding another term that relates to the topic you are interested in. Use AND to combine search terms, for example, women AND salary.

Use limiters - Limiters (such as date and format) give you more targeted results.

Topic is too broad - Narrow the scope of your search. Think about the different aspects of your topic you will address and search for them separately. Then synthesize the information. You may need to narrow your topic if it is too large to cover in a short paper.

Too few results:

Is this the best database for your topic? If you are using a subject-specific database (education, psychology, etc.), try a multidisciplinary database like Academic Search Premier or a specialized search engine like Google Scholar. Be prepared to try several different databases. If you need a subject-specific database, try the Subject Guides or Course Guides.

Use good search terms - Check spelling, and brainstorm synonyms or related terms. You can use OR between synonyms (for example salary OR pay OR compensation).

Too many search terms - If you have three or more search terms, try removing one to see if your results improve.

Too many limiters - Use only limiters that are absolutely necessary.

Your topic is too narrow - What is the broader theme of your topic? Break your topic down and search for different parts separately. Then synthesize the information you find.

Looking for books, print journals, or media? Search Library Search, the library's catalog.

Can you use a limiter to focus your results? Use the facets on the left side of the search results page to limit by subject, author, language, etc.

Looking for a specific article? Use Library Search or use a subject-specific database from the A-Z Databases list. If you know the journal title for an online journal article, you can also search the journal itself (see Berntsen Library's Online Full-Text Journals).

Or if you use Google Scholar and add "Full Text via UNWSP" to your Google Scholar Library Links (under "Settings") you can search for articles available full-text at Northwestern. If you see Full Text via UNWSP next to the citation, then we have it.

Looking for Reserves? Find Course Reserves on the Berntsen Library's homepage.