Background reading is an essential starting point to any research project. The purpose of background reading is to get an overview of your topic, and to begin to become acquainted with the key terms, names, and events associated with your topic.
Find and read an article in a subject-specific reference book or eReference database. The Berntsen Library collects reference books in both print and online formats. (*Note: Reference books are considered tertiary sources and are not typically referred to or cited in research papers.)
Use the eReference databases listed below to find background articles about your topic.
Credo reference delivers full-text entries as well as images, audio files and videos.
Pro vs. con essays that present multiple sides of current or controversial issues. Plus magazine and newspaper articles, primary sources, and more related to those issues.
These subject-specific reference books in print are available at the Berntsen Library. They will help give you a concise, authoritative overview of your Health & Kinesiology topic as you begin your research.
The Encyclopedia of Exercise, Sport and Health by 
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior by 
Gray's Anatomy by 
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy 20E by 
Praeger Handbook of Sports Medicine and Athlete Health
Encyclopedia of Sports and Athletics by Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior by 
Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness by The library collects subject-specific reference books in e-book format as well as in print. Here is a list of e-reference works that would include the topics of Health & Kinesiology.