Background reading is an essential starting point to any research project. The purpose of background reading is to get an overview of your topic, and to begin to become acquainted with the key terms, names, and events associated with your topic.
Find and read an article in a subject-specific reference book or eReference database. The Berntsen Library collects reference books in both print and online formats. (*Note: Reference books are considered tertiary sources and are not typically referred to or cited in research papers.)
Use the eReference databases listed below to find background articles about your topic.
These subject-specific reference booksare available at the Berntsen Library. They are worth a trip to the library in order to get a concise, authoritative overview of your History topic as you begin your research. This list is just a sample of the many print reference books available at the Berntsen Library. Search Library Search, the library's catalog, or browse the 900s section of the Reference collection to find more history reference books.
Europe since 1914: Encyclopedia of the age of war and reconstruction by 
Term Paper Resource Guide to Twentieth-Century World History by 
Modern Germany: An encyclopedia of history, people, and culture, 1871-1990 by 
Encyclopedia of Russian History by 
Encyclopedia of contemporary Russian culture by 
A dictionary of European history and politics, 1945-1995 by 
Conflict in Northern Ireland by Search the Credo Reference database in order to find brief, authoritiative reference articles on your topic in electronic format.
