Skip to Main Content

History of Europe in the 20th Century

About this page

This page will assist you in locating secondary sources for your topic.


Common secondary sources for historical research include books and scholarly articles.

Finding secondary sources for 20th century European history

Finding Books in Library Search

Search Library Search to find scholarly books and monographs on historical topics.

Search Library Search in order to use the advanced search feature.  For example, use the "Subject" field to find books about a particular person, e.g., "Walesa, Lech, 1943-"

 

Finding Articles in databases

The library's collection of article databases can be found at: https://guide.unwsp.edu/az.php.

Search JSTOR to find full-text, full-image, scholarly articles on history topics. JSTOR is an archival database for selected titles in the humanities and social sciences. Search Project Muse to find full text, subscription access to current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

History Databases

Search Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar to find citations to scholarly articles. While some articles are freely available via the web, many are not. If you find a useful article citation using Google Scholar, check the Berntsen Library's Journal Title Search to see if you can access the journal via the library. Otherwise, you may request the article via interlibrary loan by submitting a request through Library Search.

Google Scholar Search

Journal Title Search

Search for periodicals available full text.