Mission

The Berntsen Library is a center of intellectual inquiry and actively supports the mission of the University of Northwestern St. Paul. We serve our community by meeting information needs with curriculum-based resources and by providing guidance in finding and effectively using information. In carrying out this mission, we seek to know our profession and community so that we can develop services in response to its needs, equipping patrons with information skills for a lifetime of learning.

The library staff strives to carry out our work within our stated values: collegiality, excellence in service, intellectual inquiry, respect for people at all levels of educational pursuit and from all disciplines, and stewardship.

History

The Berntsen Library is named in honor of former University of Northwestern president and chancellor, William B. Berntsen. The three-level, 37,800 square-foot facility opened to the Northwestern community in January 1993.

The library provides access to more than 260,000 titles and 118 online collections. Additionally, the Berntsen Library is a member of CLIC (Cooperating Libraries in Consortium), which provides for and promotes resource-sharing with the libraries of six other private colleges in the Twin Cities. Through CLIC, the UNW community gains access to a combined collection of 2.2 million titles.


Meet the Staff

Ruth McGuire

Library Director

651-631-5343

ramcguire@unwsp.edu

Lindsey Brooks

Weekend & Periodicals

651-286-7492

lsbrooks@unwsp.edu

Nathan Farley

Systems

651-631-5384

nrfarley@unwsp.edu

Katie Hagen

Acquisitions & Cataloging

651-628-3353

kahagen@unwsp.edu

Jessica Moore

Reference/Instruction

651-631-5298

jmmoore@unwsp.edu

Linda Rust

Electronic Resources

651-631-5319

lorust@unwsp.edu

Greg Rosauer

Archivist

651-628-3358

gjrosauer@unwsp.edu

Becky Schleicher

Circulation, Interlibrary Loan (ILL), & Reserves

651-631-5159

bjschleicher@unwsp.edu

Kong Yang

Web Services

651-631-5233

kmyang@unwsp.edu