Develop and manage collections that support research and instruction in subject area(s) by contributing to the selection and management of content for the libraries collections in relevant formats
Competencies
- Use collections as a basis for engagement, research, curricular goals, or instructional goals
- Select materials in relevant formats to serve the teaching and learning needs of the university's academic community
- Work effectively with library colleagues to enhance acquisition, access, discovery and use of the library collections
- Participate in cooperative collection development relationships to enhance access, cost savings, and shared resources
- Strategically assess and make decisions regarding the acquisition, retention, and preservation of collections, including analysis of usage data
Best Practices
- Manage print retention and maintain print collections, in relation to availability, need, use, and space
- Review serials subscriptions and standing orders on a regular basis to make sure they reflect current teaching and learning needs
- Collaboratively select and purchase e-books with CLIC consortium members
- Communicate with faculty in designated departments related to the development of subject collections
- Make purchase recommendations based on research interactions with students and faculty (i.e., syllabi, Research Desk)
- Select and collect university-related publications, documents, and records in both physical and electronic formats for preservation in the archives