Background reading is an essential starting point to any research project. The purpose of background reading is to get an overview of your topic, and to begin to become acquainted with the key terms, names, and events associated with your topic.
Find and read an article in a subject-specific reference book or eReference database. The Berntsen Library collects reference books in both print and online formats. (*Note: Reference books are considered tertiary sources and are not typically referred to or cited in research papers.)
Use the eReference databases listed below to find background articles about your topic.
Credo reference delivers full-text entries as well as images, audio files and videos.
Pro vs. con essays that present multiple sides of current or controversial issues. Plus magazine and newspaper articles, primary sources, and more related to those issues.
These subject-specific reference books are available at the Berntsen Library. They are worth a trip to the library in order to get a concise, authoritative overview of your History topic as you begin your research. This list is just a sample of the many print reference books available at the Berntsen Library.
Search Library Search the library's catalog, or browse the 900s section of the Reference collection to find more history reference books.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by 
Europe 1789 to 1914: Encyclopedia of the age of industry and empire by 
The encyclopedia of the Victorian world: A reader's companion to the people, places, events, and everyday life of the Victorian era by 
A critical dictionary of the French Revolution by 
Encyclopedia of Russian History by Find authoritative reference articles on your topic in electronic format.
*Gasp!* Why is a library guide telling you to search Wikipedia? Like other reference sources, you might want to consult Wikipedia for background reading and fact gathering, but do not cite it as a source in your paper. For this particular class, the real value of Wikipedia is the list of links at the end of the article. These links will sometimes lead you to digitized collections of primary sources on your topic as well as to online bibliographies and other resources.