Background reading is an essential starting point to any research project. The purpose of background reading is to get an overview of your topic and to begin to become acquainted with the key terms, names and events associated with your topic. A good place to begin your background reading is to find and read an article in a subject-specific reference book. The Berntsen Library collects reference books in both print and online formats.
These subject-specific reference books are available at the Berntsen Library. They are worth a trip to the library in order to get a concise, authoritative overview of your Linguistics topic as you begin your research.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics by
Now in its second edition, this invaluable work is the most authoritative dictionary of linguistics of its kind available. The author, Peter Matthews, is professor of linguistics at Cambridge University and an established expert in the field. The dictionary contains over 3,150 entries coveringevery aspect of this multidisciplinary field, including sociolinguistics, language theory and history, language families, and major languages from all over the world (including major national/regional dialects), and key figures and ideas in linguistics.Fully revised and updated for the second edition, the dictionary now boasts greatly enhanced coverage of sociolinguistics, making it an ideal reference for those studying linguistics. It also includes entries on notable recent theorists in the field, such as Del Hymes and Peter Trudgill.Wide-ranging and accessible, this dictionary is ideal reference for students and teachers in language-related courses, and a great introduction to linguistics for the general reader with an interest in language and its study.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory by 
Encyclopedia of Linguistics by 
Key Concepts in Language and Linguistics by 
The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics by When looking for a book or searching for a topic of interest it may be helpful to browse the shelves. Below are the Dewey Decimal System call numbers associated with this field of study:
410 Linguistics
411 Writing systems
412 Etymology
413 Dictionaries
414 Phonology
415 Structural systems (Grammar)
416 No longer used
417 Dialectology & historical linguistics
418 Standard usage; Applied linguistics
419 Verbal language not spoken or written
