The AMA Handbook of Business Writing by Kevin Wilson; Jennifer WausonJust because you're not a born writer doesn't mean you should settle for less than perfect business documents. After all, every piece you write reflects directly on the quality of the product or service your business offers. Now, this helpful guide takes the guesswork out of more than 50 commonly used business documents, including: Reports * Proposals * Business plans * Presentations * Press releases * Memos * Email * Newsletters * Collection Letters * Sales materials * And more Arranged alphabetically and cross-referenced for easier use, the book presents clear examples of how to (and how not to) create winning materials every time. The authors' step-by-step instructions begin with an overview of the writing process, from preparation and research right through to final review and publication. Sample documents show you how your pieces should look and read, and close to 300 individual entries cover key points of grammar, style and spelling, and present strategies for writing more clearly, avoiding bias, eliminating clichés, and much more.
Publication Date: 2010-08-04
Business Writing in the Digital Age by Natalie CanavorBusiness Writing in the Digital Age fills an urgent need to equip business and MBA students to write more effectively in a style that works for today′s business world. Using a readable, highly accessible approach and numerous concrete examples, this book frames writing as a strategic tool to accomplish goals. Readers learn a step-by-step system that tells them what to say, and how to say it in every circumstance. At the same time they learn how to improve their technical skills by applying practical techniques rather than grammatical rules. In today′s business world, success depends on writing. Those who write well are better able to win opportunities, establish their reputation, persuade others to their viewpoint and build relationships. They collaborate, manage and lead more effectively. Writing well also equips businesspeople to function in a global marketplace and reach increasingly diverse audiences. This book builds readers′ confidence and capabilities. No matter what their starting point, they absorb a solid foundation that applies to all writing. They also learn the specifics of crafting messages and documents that range from the traditional, like letters and proposals, to media such as email, blogs, web sites, PowerPoint and social networking. This broad coverage makes the material relevant and compelling. Students also develop tools to keep improving on their own, and to handle new communication channels as they emerge. Business Writing in the Digital Age helps teachers stay current with a changing media landscape. They can use it as a complete guide to writing development, drawing on the practice opportunities and group projects supplied, or assign students to work with some--or all the material--on their own.
Writing for the Workplace: business communication for professionals by Janet MizrahiEmployers consider communication one of the most critical skills for workers today. Writing for the Workplace: Business Communication for Professionals is an easy- to-follow guide that provides strategies for effective professional communication. Written to address the needs of both students entering the workforce and business professionals looking to improve their written communication, the book offers guides to compose typical workplace documents, from effective e-mails and convincing reports to winning presentations and engaging resumes. This concise book offers busy readers concrete strategies to improve their workplace writing.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Writing for Public Relations: a practical guide for professionals by Janet MizrahiEmployers consider communication as one of the most critical skills for workers today. Writing for the Workplace: Business Communication for Professionals is an easy-to-follow guide that provides strategies for effective professional communication. Written to address the needs of both students entering the workforce and business professionals looking to improve their written communication, the book offers guides to compose typical workplace documents, from effective e-mails and convincing reports to winning presentations and engaging resumes. This concise book offers busy readers concrete strategies to improve their workplace writing.
Publication Date: 2015-12-29
Effective Internal Communication by Lyn Smith; Pamela MounterInternal communication has previously been overlooked in standard approaches to public relations, both in theory and in practice. The second edition of Effective Internal Communication explores the ways in which attitude is fast changing as more and more organizations recognize that good communication with their workforce is vital for continued success and profitability. In a practical and jargon-free style, Effective Internal Communication looks at how internal communication is conducted across the different sectors and in organizations of differing sizes and complexity. Crammed with practical examples and useful advice, the book contains numerous topical case studies that serve to bring theory and often complex issues to life. This completely up-to-date second edition looks at a wide range of issues related to internal communication, including managing internal communication, internal communication across the sectors, the legal framework, the measurement of results, the effects of technology and managing change. The new edition also contains new chapters on communicating in a crisis, leadership by mid-level managers, and the future of internal communication.
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
The Art of Successful Business Communication by Patrick Forsyth; Frances KayAn opportunity to impress, Communication is easy isn't it? Well it may seem so, but consider honestly when was the last time you were involved in a breakdown of communications? And how long ago was one such a veritable derailment? For most people and in most organisations this happens regularly. It matters. Communication - effective communication - makes thing happen. There can be a great deal hanging on it. Whether the communication concerned is a simple email, a contribution to a meeting, a report or a presentation, it can prompt agreement or action; it can seal a good deal, drive a hard bargain and enhance your profile and boost your reputation as it does so. Or not: for instance making a poor presentation may do real damage and allow no second chances, and an ill-considered report may come back to haunt you in months to come. This book is the antidote to communications difficulty. It sets out proven, practical guidelines to ensure you can prepare (and prepare quickly) and deliver messages in a clear, succinct, precise, descriptive, informative, and impressive way - and that they are effective. That is, they achieve your purpose with others, however technical, complex or difficult the topics they may involve. Take no risks. Guarantee communications success and enhance your profile as you do so.
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
The Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking by John SeelyThe Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking is the essential guide for everyone who needs to communicate in clear and effective English, both written and spoken. In the first section on communicating in everyday life, chapters cover everything from writing email to giving presentationsand preparing reports. John Seely also offers guidance on understanding the demands of particular audiences, subjects, and situations. With guidelines and exercises, this book will help you to tailor your message and language accordingly. The second section on the English language givesauthoritative advice on grammar, vocabulary, spelling, and punctuation to ensure that communication is accurate as well as appropriate. A final section examines the process of writing itself, including planning and research, drafting, and using technology. New to this edition are chapters on writingemail and help on writing for the internet. The Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking is designed to be practical and user-friendly, with boxed exercises, guidelines, and examples. A glossary and index make the volume easy to use and simple to navigate. This is the most comprehensive guide to using English for effective communicationavailable; it covers an unrivalled range of situations and requirements. Perfect for use at work, at college, or at home.
Writing Online: a guide to effective digital communication at work by Erika DaricsOnline writing plays a complex and increasingly prominent role in the life of organizations. From newsletters to press releases, social media marketing and advertising, to virtual presentations and interactions via e-mail and instant messaging, digital writing intertwines and affects the day-to-day running of the company - yet we rarely pay enough attention to it. Typing on the screen can become particularly problematic because digital text-based communication increases the opportunities for misunderstanding: it lacks the direct audio-visual contact and the norms and conventions that would normally help people to understand each other. Providing a clear, convincing and approachable discussion, this book addresses arenas of online writing: virtual teamwork, instant messaging, emails, corporate communication channels, and social media. Instead of offering do and don't lists, however, it teaches the reader to develop a practice that is observant, reflective, and grounded in the understanding of the basic principles of language and communication. Through real-life examples and case studies, it helps the reader to notice previously unnoticed small details, question previously unchallenged assumptions and practices, and become a competent digital communicator in a wide range of professional contexts.
Publication Date: 2015-11-06
Today's Business Communication: a how-to guide for the modern professional by Jason L. Snyder; Robert ForbusThis handy guide to excellent business communicationsis perfect for anyone, whether preparing for acareer, launching a career, or advancing in a career.Future savvy business professionals understand thatevery organization expects employees to be exceptionalbusiness communicators and this book will getyou there.Inside, the authors lead you through the most frequentlyencountered business communication situationswith a combined 30 years of marketing andcommunication experience. Their success will give youvery accessible, entertaining, and informative answersto your questions. Also included are real anecdotesfrom business professionals from different industries.
Publication Date: 2014-01-31
Zen and the Art of Business Communication: a step-by-step guide to improving your business writing skills by Susan L. LuckIn today's online world, our professional image depends on our ability to communicate. Whether we're communicating by email, text, social media, written reports or presentations, how we use our words often determines how others view us. This book offers tips and techniques that can improve anyone's professional image. The author covers how to analyze multiple audiences and strategies for communicating your message effectively for each; structuring your message for greatest readability and effect; persuasion and tone; and how to face your own fears of writing. The content is delivered in a simple, clear style that reflects the Zen approach of the title, perfect for both the entry-level employee and the seasoned executive.