Background reading is an essential starting point to any research project. Background reading may suggest a research topic or provide an overview of your topic. It also will lead to other resources related to your topic.
A good place to begin your background reading is in a subject-specific reference book. The Berntsen Library collects reference books in both print and online formats.
*Note: Reference books are considered tertiary sources and are not typically referred to or cited in research papers.
Electronic Reference is available on any topic.
Credo reference delivers full-text entries as well as images, audio files and videos.
Reference books are located on the main floor of the library.
You can locate reference and other books in Library Search, or you can browse the collection using the Dewey guide below.
The items listed below are a sample of the subject specific reference available in the library and electronically.
Encyclopedia of information science and technology [electronic resource]
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
21st Century Communication: a Reference Handbook by
Via 100 entries or "mini-chapters," the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on Communication will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of communication ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st Century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not as much jargon, detail or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.
Propaganda and mass persuasion : a historical encyclopedia, 1500 to the present*Gasp!* Why is a library guide telling you to search Wikipedia? Like other reference sources, you might want to consult Wikipedia for background reading and fact gathering, but do not cite it as a source in your paper. For this particular class, the real value of Wikipedia is the list of links at the end of the article. These links will sometimes lead you to digitized collections of primary sources on your topic as well as to online bibliographies and other resources.
004
Technology, computers
100
Psychology – counseling
170
Ethics
201.6
Religion
302.2
Communication – Media
321
Politics
370
Education
390
Fashion
400
Language – linguistics
650
Business
658
Advertising
703
Art
740
Music
777
Photography
791
Film
792
Drama
794.44
Radio
794.45
TV
796
Sports
800
Literature
900
History
Use these numbers to browse the library's collection of books.
