Intercultural Communication

Communication databases

Combining databases in a single search

Databases specializing in Communication can be combined with those in other fields in one search.  
Start with an EBSCO database like Communication and Mass Media Complete.

Choose a database: Ebsco

On the screen that appears, you can check mulitple databases. 
Depending on your topic, you might add general databases like Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier (for marketing),  ERIC (for education), PsychArticles (for psychology), or ATLA (For religion) .

Tips for finding "studies" and "research articles"

When doing a literature review on a topic, frequently "studies" and/or "research" are the preferred type of article.  When you limit to "scholarly" or "peer reviewed" articles in a database search, the results are more likely to be original research articles. 

Adding the word "methodology,"  "research,"  or "study" to your key word search can also help.

(Example:  Gender in advertising and methodology)

Remember "research articles" usually contain the following information (usually denoted by separate headings).

ABSTRACT  *  METHODOLOGY  *  RESULTS  *  CONCLUSION *  REFERENCES

Other Resources

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar to find citations to scholarly articles.  While some articles are freely available via the web, many are not.  If you find a useful article citation using Google Scholar, check the Berntsen Library's Journal Title Search to see if you can access the journal via the library.  Otherwise, you may request the article via Inter-Library Loan by submitting a request through ILLiad.

Google Scholar Search