Berntsen Library: Engineering Resources: Home

Email Me

Contact:

651-628-3358

Subjects: Archeology, Archives, Bible & Theology, Biology, Christian Ministry, Citation, Dictionaries, Engineering, ESL, Ethics, Health, History, Kinesiology, Ministry, Modern Languages, Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science, Spanish, Theology, World Languages

Find Academic Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
You can use Academic Search Premier to search for full text articles covering topics in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. A useful database for a broad range of needs, Academic Search Premier indexes nearly 13,800 publications, with over 4,700 of them providing access to the full-text.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 24 million citations from biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Searching the PubMed Database Tutorial
Science & Technology (ProQuest Research Library) This link opens in a new window
This resource covers publications on the latest science and technology information for researchers of all levels.

Find Books, eBooks, & More

Library Search
Use Library Search to find materials you have access to as a UNW student, including books, ebooks, streaming video, reference entries, news and academic articles, conference proceedings, and more.

Find Patents

Free Patents Online
One of the most powerful, fastest and easiest patent search engines on the web, including options for advanced search techniques.
Google Patents - Advanced Search
Includes over 120 million patent publications from 100+ patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books. Search by keyword, number, inventor, title, classification or date.
PatentScope (WIPO)
Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 98 million patent documents including 4.1 million published international patent applications (PCT).
U.S. Patent & Trademark Office - Search for patents
The USPTO houses full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present and TIFF images for all patents from 1790 to the present. Includes copyrights, trademarks and IP law and policy. The site includes training on patent search strategies.

Government or Association Websites

American Society of Civil Engineers
ASCE stands at the forefront of a profession that plans, designs, constructs, and operates society’s economic and social engine – the built environment – while protecting and restoring the natural environment.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers
ASME promotes the art, science & practice of multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences around the globe.
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
The CFR is the official legal print publication containing the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) is a continuously updated online version of the CFR, not an official legal edition.
IEEE
IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.
Merck Index
For over 120 years, the Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Available online from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Science.gov
Index to sites on the web which focus on computers, communication and math. Searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results
Standards.gov
This site provides information about the use of documentary standards and conformity assessment activities in the Federal government; background materials and resources on the standards landscape that are useful for industry and academia; and
useful standards and conformity assessment information freely available to the general public.
TRAIL - Technical Report Archive & Image Library
Provides unrestricted access to digitized U.S. government agency technical reports

Company & Industry Information

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Use to locate article summaries and full-text articles covering all business disciplines. In addition, from the home search screen, you can browse country reports, industry profiles, market research reports, and company profiles that include SWOT analyses and top competitors. Company types include public, private, U.S., and international.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
This flexible application features a deep collection of private and public U.S and international business data, including facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles, and competitor lists. This database combines information from a variety of well-established names within the business information universe including: Hoovers, Dun & Bradstreet, and Whitepages Pro.

Citing

Engineering Style Guide
Consult this guide for links to style manuals and other helpful sites or documents that provide guidance related to citing in your field.
Getting Started with Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

Engineering Resources

Find Academic Articles

Find Books, eBooks, & More

Find Patents

Government or Association Websites

Company & Industry Information

Citing

Resources

Services

About