Skip to Main Content

SBL Style Guide

Secondary Sources

Secondary sources like journals, series, and major reference works usually have a standard abbreviated form. In footnotes and bibliographies you should refer to a journal by its abbreviated form (e.g., Journal of Biblical Literature is abbreviated as JBL). You've probably noticed that biblical commentaries are usually published as a series of books with an individual author for each. The title of the commentary series (e.g., New International Commentary on the Old Testament) is abbreviated (e.g., NICOT) in footnotes and in the bibliography. Similarly, reference works like dictionaries or encyclopedias have abbreviated forms (e.g., The Anchor Bible Dictionary is abbreviated as ABD).

For an extensive list of abbreviations for secondary sources, see §8.4 (pages 171-260) of SBLHS.

Journals, Commentary Series, and Reference Works

Abbreviations for journals are listed together with series and reference works alphabetically by full title in §8.4.1 (pages 171-216) and alphabetically by abbreviation in §8.4.2 (pages 216-260) of SBLHS. The journals listed below are only a small portion of those listed in the handbook. All journal titles and abbreviations should be italicized.

Note: titles with an asterisk (*) are not found in SBLHS, but are commonly abbreviated as follows.

Journal Title   Abbrev.
Biblica   Bib
Biblical Archaeologist   BA
Biblical Archaeological Review   BAR
Bibliotheca Sacra   BSac
Bulletin for Biblical Research   BBR
Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research   BASOR
Catholic Biblical Quarterly   CBQ
Christian Century   ChrCent
Christianity and Literature   ChrLit
Church History   CH
Currents in Biblical Research   CurBR
Evangelical Quarterly   EvQ
Harvard Theological Review   HTR
*International Journal of Systematic Theology   IJST
Interpretation   Int
Jewish Studies Quarterly   JSQ
Journal for the Study of the New Testament   JSNT
Journal for the Study of the Old Testament   JSOT
Journal of Ancient Near Eastern Religions   JANER
Journal of Biblical Literature   JBL
Journal of the American Academy of Religion   JAAR
Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society   JETS
*Journal of Theological Interpretation   JTI
Journal of Theological Studies   JTS
Master's Seminary Journals   MSJ
New Testament Abstracts   NTA
New Testament Studies   NTS
Novum Testamentum   NovT
Old Testament Abstracts   OTA
Review of Biblical Literature   RBL
Revue biblique   RB
Scottish Journal of Theology   SJT
Southwestern Journal of Theology   SwJT
*Southern Baptist Journal of Theology   SBJT
Themelios   Them
Theology Today   ThTo
Trinity Journal   TJ
Tyndale Bulletin   TynBul
Vetus Testamentum   VT
*Wesleyan Theological Journal   WesTJ
Westminster Theological Journal   WTJ

Abbreviations for commentary series are listed together with journals and reference works alphabetically by full title in §8.4.1 (pages 171-216) and alphabetically by abbreviation in §8.4.2 (pages 216-260) of SBLHS

Note: commentary series with an asterisk (*) are not listed in SBLHS. Abbreviations for these are taken from www.bestcommentaries.com.

Full Title   Abbrev.
Abingdon New Testament Commentaries   ANTC
Abingdon Old Testament Commentaries   AOTC
Anchor Bible (or *Anchor Yale Bible)   AB (or AYB)
Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture   ACCS
Appolos Old Testament Commentary   ApOTC
Augsburg Commentary on the New Testament   ACNT
Baker Exegetical Commentary on the NT   BECNT
*Bible Speaks Today   BST
Black's New Testament Commentaries   BNTC
*Brazos Theological Commentary   BTC
Eerdmans Critical Commentary   ECC
*Expositor's Bible Commentary, Revised   REBC
Hermeneia   Hermeneia
International Critical Commentary   ICC
Interpretation   IBC
*IVP New Testament Commentary   IVPNTC
New American Commentary   NAC
*New Cambridge Bible Commentary   NCBC
New Century Bible   NCB
New International Biblical Commentary on the NT   NIBCNT
New International Biblical Commentary on the OT   NIBCOT
New International Commentary on the NT   NICNT
New International Commentary on the OT   NICOT
New International Greek Testament Commentary   NIGTC
The New Interpreter's Bible   NIB
The New Jerome Bible Commentary   NJBC
New Testament Library   NTL
*NIV Application Commentary   NIVAC
Old Testament Library   OTL
*Pillar New Testament Commentary   PNTC
Sacra Pagina   SP
Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary   SHBC
Tyndale New Testament Commentaries   TNTC
Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries   TOTC
The Women's Bible Commentary   WBC
Word Biblical Commentary   WBC
*Zondervan Exegetical Commentary   ZEC
*Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary   ZIBBC

Abbreviations for major reference works are listed together with series and journals alphabetically by full title in §8.4.1 (pages 171-216) and alphabetically by abbreviation in §8.4.2 (pages 216-260) of SBLHS

Note: titles with an asterisk (*) are not found in SBLHS, but are commonly abbreviated as follows.

Title   Abbrev.
Anchor Bible Dictionary. Edited by David Noel Freedman. 6 vols. New York: Doubleday, 1992.   ABD
Baker Encyclopedia of the Bible. Edited by Walter A. Elwell. 4 vols. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1988.   BEB
*Baker Illustrated Bible Dictionary. Edited by Tremper Longman III. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2013.   BIBD
*Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible. Edited by Kevin J. Vanhoozer. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2005.   DTIB
*Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. Edited by Leland Ryken, James C. Wilhoit, and Tremper Longman III. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1998.   DBIm
Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation. Edited by John Hayes. 2 vols. Nashville: Abingdon, 1999.   DBI
Dictionary of Classical Hebrew. Edited by David J. A. Clines. 9 voles. Sheffield: Sheffield Phoenix Press, 1993-2016.   DCH
Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible. Edited by Karel van der Toorn, Bob Becking, and Pieter W. van der Horst. Leiden: Brill, 1995. 2nd rev. ed. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1999.   DDD
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels. Edited by Joel B. Green, Jeannine K. Brown, and Nicholas Perrin. 2nd ed. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2013.   DJG
Dictionary of New Testament Background. Edited by Craig A. Evans and Stanley E. Porter. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2000.   DNTB
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters. Edited by Gerald F. Hawthorne and Ralph P. Martin. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1993.   DPL
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments. Edited by R. P. Martin and P. H. Davids. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1997.   DLNT
*Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books. Edited by Bill T. Arnold and H. G. M. Williamson. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2005.   DOTHB
*Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch. Edited by T. Desmond Alexander and David W. Baker. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2003.   DOTP
*Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets. Edited by Mark J. Boda and J. Gordon McConville. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2012.   DOTPr
*Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings. Edited by Tremper Longman III and Peter Enns. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2008.   DOTWPW
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible. Edited by David Noel Freedman. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2000.   EDB
Encyclopedia Judaica. Edited by Fred Skolnik and Michael Berenbaum. 2nd ed. 22 vols. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2007.   EncJud
*Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity. Edited by Angelo di Berardino et al. 3 vols. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2014.   EAC
*Encyclopedia of Christianity. Edited by Erwin Fahlbusch, et al. 5 vols. Grand Rapids and Leiden: Eerdmans and Brill, 1999-2008.   EC
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity. Edited by Everett Ferguson. 2nd ed. 2 vols. New York: Garland, 1997.   EEC
Encyclopedia of Religion. Edited by Lindsay Jones. 2nd ed. 15 vols. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005.   ER
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception. Edited by Hans-Josef Klauck et al. Berlin: de Gruyter, 2009-   EBR
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls. Edited by Lawrence H. Schiffman and James C. VanderKam. 2 vols. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.   EDSS
*Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology. Edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1996.   EDBT
*Evangelical Dictionary of Theology. Edited by Walter A. Elwell. 2nd ed. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2001.   EDT
Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament. Edited by Horst Balz and Gerhad Schneider. ET. 3 vols. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1990-1993.   EDNT
Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament. Frederick W. Danker, Walter Bauer, William F. Arndt, and F. Wilbur Gingrich. 3rd ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2000.   BDAG
Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament: Based on Semantic Domains. Johannes P. Louw and Eugene A. Nida. 2nd ed. 2 vols. New York: United Bible Societies, 1989.   L&N
Greek-English Lexicon of the Septuagint. Johan Lust, Erik Eynikel, and Katrin Hauspie. Rev. ed. Stuttgart: Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft, 2003.   LEH
Greek-English Lexicon of the Septuagint. Takamitsu Muraoka. Leuven: Peeters, 2009.   GELS
The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament. Ludwig Koehler, Walter Baumgartner, and Johann J. Stamm. 4 vols. Leiden: Brill, 1994-1999.   HALOT
International Standard Bible Encyclopedia. Edited by Geoffrey W. Bromiley. 4 vols. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1979-1988.   ISBE
New Bible Dictionary. Edited by D. G. W. Wood, I. Howard Marshall, J. D. Douglas, and N. Hillyer. 3rd ed. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1996.   NBD3
*New Catholic Encyclopedia: Second Edition. Edited by Berard L. Marthaler et al. 15 vols. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2003.   NCE2
*New Dictionary of Biblical Theology. Edited by T. Desmond Alexander, et al. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2000.   NDBT
New International Dictionary of Biblical Archaeology. Edited by E. M. Blaiklock and R. K. Harrison. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1983.   NIDBA
*New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis. Edited by Moisés Silva. 2nd ed. 5 vols. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2014.   NIDNTTE
New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis. Edited by Willem A. VanGemeren. 5 vols. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1997.   NIDOTTE
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible. Edited by Katharine Doob Sakenfeld. 5 vols. Nashville: Abington, 2006-2009.   NIDB
The NIV Theological Dictionary of New Testament Words. Edited by Verlyn D. Verbrugge. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2000.   TDNTW
Oxford Classical Dictionary. Edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth. 4th ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2012.   OCD
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. Edited by Frank L. Cross and Elizabeth A. Livingstone. 3rd ed. rev. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005.   ODCC
*Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation. Edited by Steven L. McKenzie. 2 vols. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013.   OEBI
Religion Past and Present: Encyclopedia of Theology and Religion. Edited by Hans Dieter Betz et al. 14 vols. Leiden: Brill, 2007-2013.   RPP
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. Edited by Gerhard Kittel and Gerhard Friedrich. Translated by Geoffrey W. Bromiley. 10 vols. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1964-1976.   TDNT
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament. Edited by G. johannes Botterweck and Helmer Ringgren. Translated by John T. Willis et al. 10 vols. 1974-2006.   TDOT
Theological Lexicon of the New Testament. Ceslas Spicq. Translated and edited by James D. Ernest. 3 vols. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson, 1994.   TLNT
Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament. Edited by Ernst Jenni, with Claus Westermann. Translated by Mark E. Biddle. 3 vols. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson, 1997.   TLOT
Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament. Edited by R. Laird Harris, Gleason L. Archer Jr., and Bruce K. Waltke. Chicago: Moody Press, 1980.   TWOT
The Vocabulary of the Greek Testament. James H. Moulton and George Milligan. London, 1930. Repr. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson, 1997.   MM
*The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible. Edited by Merrill C. Tenney and Moisés Silva. 5 vols. Grand Rapids, 2009.   ZEB